I started Medical School about 15 days ago.

It’s ben go-go-go right from day 1. We have two hours of Anatomy Dissection smack at 8:00 am followed by three hours of continuous theory lectures in the subjects of Anatomy, Physiology and Biochemistry. An hour’s lunch break follows from 1:00 – 2:00 p.m. and classes resume with Laboratory Practicals from 2:00 – 4:00 pm. It is mind-numbing indeed. The amount of information that we receive everyday is astonishing.

I’m not complaining though. This is what I signed up for, this is what I’ve been dreaming of for a while now. It’s finally here and I’m happy like I’ve never been before. 3 hours of non-stop lectures seems like a long time to sit on your butt without getting up, everyday. I enjoy it however, honestly, I enjoy it. If I didn’t, then I wouldn’t be spending what little free time I have talking to you guys 🙂

I’ll continue to brief you on my Med School travails as I walk along this path, but let me cut to the point of the above photograph.

Medical School has High Standards. I mean ANNOYINGLY high.

The photograph shown above is my answer to a 5-mark question asking us to describe the Clavicle. I drew a diagram, added 10 labels, and then listed exactly 10 points about the Clavicle’s pecularities, along with another 6 points on the insertion and origin of various muscles.

What do I get? My teacher smiles and says that I’ve done a good job, but my answer is good enough only for a score of 2.5/5.

*insert blank, uncomprehending expression on face*

However, I guess it’s valid considering that a score of 70/100 is considered REALLY good in College.

It’s going to take some time adjusting from school to a professional course, especially one as extensive and demanding as medicine, but I’m looking forward to this challenge like never before.